The Coalition for the Life Sciences (CLS) would like to thank Congress for its commitment to the federally funded life science enterprise.

National Institutes of Health

The CLS is pleased to see that Congress supported a $2...


It turns out, they like us, or so they say. Biomedical researchers should take note that for the second year in a row, U.S. Senate appropriators have declared funding the National Institutes of Health a...

About the CBRC

The Congressional Biomedical Research Caucus (CBRC) was established in 1989 to broaden the support and knowledge of basic and clinical biomedical research issues throughout the Congress in a bipartisan manner. The CBRC is a bipartisan, bicameral Caucus and takes no dues from its members. Seventy five Members of the House of Representatives and eight Members of the Senate comprise the Caucus Membership with Steve Stivers (R-OH), Jackie Speier (D-CA), Joe Barton (R-TX), and Steve Cohen (D-TN) serving as co-chairs. For a list of the CRBC members from the 114th Congress, click here.

The Caucus seeks to support the excellent efforts of the congressional committees and Members of Congress with jurisdiction over the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the National Science Foundation (NSF), science research, and health issues. The Caucus also serves to inform and educate Congress about potential and actual advances in health care made by our investment in biomedical research, while exploring future advances that could be achieved with increased support, thus maintaining our economic advantage in world markets in biomedical research and resulting biotechnology enterprises. Additionally, the CBRC provides an educational forum for discussion and exchange of ideas on issues involving biomedical research.

The CBRC has enjoyed remarkable successes through its broad membership, education and outreach efforts among Members of Congress and the preeminence of the scientists who serve as partners with CBRC leadership through the Coalition for the Life Sciences (CLS). The CLS serves as the Advisory Committee to the CBRC providing scientific advice and guidance. The current scientific advisors to the Caucus are James Haber of Brandies University and Mary Beckerle of the Huntsman Cancer Institute and the University of Utah. They succeed Nobel Laureates J. Michael Bishop who served from 1992 until 2010 and Harold Varmus who served from 1989 until 1992.

To see a full listing of the 2016 briefing series, click here.